Front Row: Tara Heinze, Jennifer Stone, Nancy Uhls, Heidi Estes  Back Row:  Chairperson David Webster, Superintendent Tim Schlosser

As Kentucky observes School Board Recognition Month in January, Simpson County Schools is joining in the celebration.

Tara Heinze, Jennifer Stone, Nancy Uhls, Heidi Estes and David Webster are among the more than 850 school board members in the state’s 173 local school districts being recognized this month for their service. 

This is the perfect time to thank school board members for serving in a role that has become increasingly complex, said David Webster, president of the Kentucky School Boards Association and chairman of the Simpson County school board. 

“Members of the Simpson County Board of Education are responsible for making decisions aimed at ensuring that every child in their district has a chance to be successful both in school and in life,” Webster said. “To do that, members oversee a $35-million budget, keep up with changing education laws and policies and spend hours on professional learning and state-mandated training.” 

The voters in Simpson County have elected these local leaders, who work to give every child in every classroom access to high quality teaching and learning,” said Tim Schlosser.

“At a time when state and federal funding continue to shrink, our school board members haven’t flinched in the face of the challenges or shied away from their responsibilities,” he said. “Our community can be very proud of this team of board members, and I’m proud to be their partner in striving for education excellence for our children.”